Thanksgiving USA food: tale of two nights of steaks

My dad happens to like the way I fry up steaks. He went a bit overboard and got steaks for me to cook twice in the two weeks that we were home. That’s a lot of steak.

I don’t do anything special. Rub some salt and oil into the steaks. Then fry on medium high heat for about 5 or so minutes on each side (or until the meat is bouncy but not too firm).

The first time he got t-bone steaks. I also  had a special treat because the entire time I was home, I got to cook with my mom’s heavy cast-iron skillets. I love these pans!

  

I used the leftover heat of the skillet and steak fat to fry up some potatoes to go with.

  

We were good and definitely did NOT eat entire steaks per person. It was split reasonably between the four of us.

The second time I cooked up sirloin. It needed a bit less time than the t-bones but otherwise, I stuck to the same method.

  

Yeah, we definitely laid off meat for a while after getting back from thanksgiving. But it did make up for the fact that there is just no good steak to be had in Greifswald…

  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment